99166 Prepared by the North Dakota Legislative Council
staff for the Legislative Audit and Fiscal Review
Committee
January 1998
COMPARISON OF COMMODITY GROUP ASSESSMENTS, LATE FILING PENALTIES, AND AUDITING PROCEDURES
Estimated
Average Nonpayment
Commodity Statutory Biennial Penalty Collection Procedures for the Auditing
Group Reference Assessment Collections Provisions Procedures of Handlers'
Potato Council Chapter 4-10.1 North Dakota Century Code $1,096,156 | North Dakota Century Code Section For reports not received on time | The council does not audit
Section 4-10.1-09 provides for 4-10.1-16 provides that the council the council sends reminder handlers.
an assessment of two cents shall levy a penalty on delinquent notices. Followup calls and
per hundredweight. The payments of 10 percent of the assess- | notices are continued until the
section also provides that the ment due plus interest at the rate of report is received.
council may increase the six percent per year.
assessment by not more than
one-half cent per hundred- The council has not been assessing
weight per year up to a penalties, but is planning on starting.
maximum assessment of four In addition, the council is considering
cents per hundredweight. introducing legislation to amend
Section 4-10.1-16 to provide that the
The council is currently assessment of penalties and interest
assessing three cents per be optional rather than mandatory.
hundredweight.
Oilseed Council Chapter 4-10.2 North Dakota Century Code $866,615 | North Dakota Century Code Section For reports not received on time | The council does not audit
Section 4-10.2-08 provides for 4-10.2-11 provides that the council the council sends second handlers.
an assessment of three cents may levy a penalty on delinquent notices. The council then
per hundredweight on payments of 10 percent of the assess- | follows up with phone calls until
sunflower, safflower, rapeseed ment due plus interest at the rate of the report is received.
or canola, and crambe. six percent per year.
Section 4-10.2-08 also The council has not been assessing
provides for an assessment of penalties and interest.
two cents per bushel on flax.
Dry Bean Council | Chapter 4-10.3 North Dakota Century Code $1,400,000 | North Dakota Century Code Section For reports not received on time | The council does not audit

Section 4-10.3-08 provides for
an assessment of 10 cents per
hundredweight.

4-10.3-11 provides that the council
may levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due plus interest at the rate of
six percent per year.

The council has never had to impose
a penalty on any of its filers.

the council follows up with a
phone call.

handlers.
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Barley Council

Soybean Council

Corn Utilization
Council

Dry Pea and
Lentil Council

Chapter 4-10.4

Chapter 4-10.5

Chapter 4-10.6

Chapter 4-10.7

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-10.4-08 provides for
an assessment of 10 mills per
bushel.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-10.5-07 provides for
an assessment of one-half of
one percent of the value of the
sale.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-10.6-08 provides for
an assessment of one-quarter
of one percent of the value of a
bushel.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-10.7-09 provides for
an assessment of one percent
of the net value.

$1,700,000

$1,500,000

$500,000

$160,000

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-10.4-12 provides that the council
may levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due plus interest at the rate of
six percent per year.

The council has not had a problem
with late filers.

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-10.5-11 provides that the council
shall levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due plus interest at the rate of
12 percent per year.

In accordance with federal law the
council is assessing a penalty on late
filers of two percent of the assess-
ment due per month.

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-10.6-14 provides that the council
may levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due plus interest at the rate of
12 percent per year.

The council has not had a problem
with late filers.

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-10.7-14 provides that the council
may levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due plus interest at the rate of
12 percent per year.

The council was established by the
1997 Legislative Assembly and
became effective July 1, 1997.

For reports not received on time
the council follows up with
phone calls until the report is
received.

For reports not received on time
the council follows up with
written correspondence. After
the return is filed, the handler is
billed for the two percent late
filing penalty.

For reports not received on time
the council sends second
notices.

Since the council was just
established it has not had any
experience with late filers.

January 1998

The council does not audit
handlers.

Federal law requires the
auditing of handlers. North
Dakota has had a waiver from
this provision. Last year the
council started contracting for
the audit of handlers and had
seven sites audited. The
council plans on contracting
for the audit of 21 to 28 sites
this year and plans on
continuing to audit handlers
on a rotating basis.

The council does not audit
handlers.

The council has not yet imple-
mented audit procedures for
first purchasers.
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Beekeeper’'s
Association

Turkey
Federation

Chapter 4-12.1

Chapter 4-13.1

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-12.1-02 provides for
an assessment of five cents
per colony of honeybees with a
minimum assessment of $1.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-13.1-03 provides for
an assessment of one cent for
each turkey weighing less than
10 pounds live weight and up
to two cents for each turkey
weighing 10 or more pounds
live weight.

The assessment currently
being charged by the federa-
tion is one cent for turkeys
weighing 18 pounds or less,
one and one-half cents for
turkeys weighing more than 18
pounds but less than 28.01
pounds, and one and three-
fourths cents for turkeys
weighing more than 28
pounds.

$20,000

$80,000

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-12.1-05 provides that a penalty shall
be levied on delinquent payments of
five percent of the assessment due
plus interest at the rate of six percent
per year.

Because the assessment is collected
along with the license fee, there has
not been a problem with delinquent
filers.

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-13.1-12 provides that a penalty shall
be levied on delinquent payments of
five percent of the assessment due
plus interest at the rate of six percent
per year.

There has never been a need to
assess penalties.

For reports not received on time
followup letters are sent or
phone calls are made.

Processors automatically remit
monthly.

January 1998

Beekeeper reports are not
audited.

Processors’ reports are not
audited.
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Dairy Promotion
Commission

Wheat
Commission

Beef Commission

Chapter 4-27

Chapter 4-28

Chapter 4-34

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-27-06 provides for
an assessment of 10 cents per
hundredweight.

Federal law provides for an
additional assessment of five
cents per hundredweight,
bringing the total assessment
to 15 cents per hundredweight.

Of the total assessment,

10 cents remains with the state
program and five cents is
remitted to the federal
program.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-28-07 provides for
an assessment of eight mills
per bushel.

North Dakota Century Code
Section 4-34-08 provides for
an assessment of 50 cents per
head.

In accordance with federal law,
the Beef Commission
assesses one dollar per head.

The 10 cents
generates
approximately
$1,530,000 and
the five cents
generates
approximately
$750,000.

$4,000,000

$2,720,000

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-27-06 provides that the commission
must levy a penalty on delinquent
payments of 10 percent of the assess-
ment due.

The commission has not had to levy
any penalties.

No provisions.

The commission has not had prob-
lems collecting from handlers.

North Dakota Century Code Section
4-34-10 and the federal law require
that unpaid assessments be
increased by two percent per month.

The Beef Commission complies with
this requirement.

For reports not received on time
the commission follows up with
a phone call.

The commission has not had
any problems collecting from
handlers.

For reports not received the
commission follows up with
letters or phone calls.

! Although the Soybean Council is the only commodity group which actually audits first purchases and handlers, the others monitor production through statewide agricultural statistic reports filed with
the Agriculture Department, Stockmen’s Association, federal milk marketing system, and other entities. The commaodity groups also monitor trend information in order to determine that the informa-
tion submitted on the checkoff reports is accurate and that the amounts remitted are accurate.
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The commission does not
audit first purchasers.

The commission does not
audit handlers.

The commission does not
audit the information
submitted in the reports.




