# NORTH DAKOTA'S RED RIVER VALLEY WATER GROUPS

The following is a list of water groups with an interest in the Red River Valley. The Hudson Bay drainage includes the Mouse River Basin, the Devils Lake-Sheyenne River Basin, and the Red River Basin. The list below includes an area beyond what would be typically included in what is considered Red River Valley farm land and includes entities in the Devils Lake-Sheyenne River Basin and the Red River Basin, but not the Mouse River Basin. Water resource districts, joint water districts, rural water systems, and irrigation districts are political subdivisions created under authority of state law. The Garrison Diversion Conservancy District and the Lake Agassiz Water Authority are special governmental units created by name in state law.

### **State Political Subdivisions**

Water Resource Districts (North Dakota Century Code Chapters 61-16 and 61-16.1)

- Barnes County
- · Benson County
- Cavalier County
- · Grand Forks County
- Griggs County
- Maple River
- North Cass
- Nelson County
- Pembina County
- Ramsey County
- Ransom County
- Richland County
- Rush River
- Sargent County
- Southeast Cass
- Steele County
- Traill County
- Tri-County
- Walsh County
- Foster County
- Eddy County
- Wells County
- Sheridan County
- Pierce County
- Benson County
- Towner County
- Rolette County
- McHenry County

## **Joint Water Resource Districts** (Section 16-16.1-11)

- Cass County Joint Board
- · Maple River-Ransom Joint Board

- Maple River-Richland Joint Board
- Devils Lake Joint Board
- · Upper Sheyenne Joint Board
- Sheyenne River Joint Board
- Hurricane Lake Joint Board
- · Red River Joint Board

# Rural Water Systems (Chapter 61-35)

- Agassiz Water Users District
- Cass Rural Water Users District
- Southeast Water Users District
- Traill Rural Water
- Grand Forks-Traill Water District
- Northeast Water District
- Walsh Rural Water District
- Barnes Rural Water District
- Dakota Rural Water District
- Greater Ramsey Water District
- Tri-County Water District
- Spirit Lake Rural Water

### Irrigation Districts (Chapters 61-05 through 61-14)

- Eastern Dakota Irrigation District
- Northeastern Irrigation District
- New Rockford Irrigation District
- Warwick-McVille Irrigation District

#### International

- Red River Basin Commission Created in 2002 to develop a Red River Basin integrated natural
  resources framework plan, to achieve commitment to implement the framework plan; and to work toward a
  unified voice for the Red River Basin through representation from North Dakota, Minnesota, and Manitoba.
  The commission is funded by appropriations from North Dakota and Minnesota and local governments of
  the three.
- International Joint Commission (IJC) Resolves disputes between the United States and Canada under the 1909 Boundary Waters Treaty.

#### International Red River Board

Mandate to monitor and study water quantity and water quality in the Red River Basin, excluding the Mouse and Assiniboine Rivers, including flood mitigation and preparedness, and to provide IJC with recommendations and information.

- International Water Institute Formed as a nonprofit corporation following the 1997 Red River flood to facilitate research, public education, training, and information dissemination relating to flood damage reduction and water resource protection and enhancement in the Red River Basin.
- Red River Retention Authority Comprised of members of the Red River Joint Water Resource District, a
  North Dakota political subdivision, and the Red River Watershed Management Board, a Minnesota political
  subdivision with the primary objective of ensuring joint, comprehensive, and strategic coordination of

retention projects in the Red River watershed and facilitating implementation and construction of retention in the Red River Valley.

 Pembina River Basin Advisory Board - Consists of local leaders from Manitoba and North Dakota to work on land and water issues affecting the Pembina River Basin.

## **Special Interest and Special Governmental**

- North Dakota Water Coalition Members include the following or groups that represent the followingwater resource districts, rural water systems, irrigation districts, the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, the Lake Agassiz Water Authority, independent water providers, and the State Water Commission and the group brings all water interest together to reach consensus and unity on water funding issues for the State Water Commission in prioritizing water projects.
- North Dakota Water Users Association Created to protect, develop, and manage water resources in
  this state and members include businesses, farmers, irrigators, engineers, contactors, cooperatives, water
  resource districts, rural water systems, and cities. The association provides communication and education,
  and leadership and support to the North Dakota Water Coalition.
- North Dakota Irrigation Association A nonprofit organization reorganized in 2004 whose membership
  includes irrigators, potential irrigators, irrigation equipment dealers and suppliers, processors, energy
  suppliers, irrigation districts, businesses, and other supporters of irrigation and economic development in
  North Dakota and whose mission is to strengthen and expand irrigation to build and diversify the economy.
- Fargo-Moorhead Flood Diversion Authority A joint powers agreement among Fargo, Moorhead, Cass County, Clay County, the Cass County Joint Water Resources District, and the Buffalo-Red River Watershed District with the purpose to build and operate a flood diversion channel along the Red River to reduce the flood risk to stakeholder communities and counties.
- Valley Prosperity Partnership Formed to identify common strategic economic development opportunities including ensuring that water infrastructure and management systems are fully funded, constructed and operational, effectively protecting against future flooding, maintaining the aquifers, while providing for a readily sustainable and quality supply of water at all times.
- MnDak Upstream Coalition Formed in 2011 to promote the minimizing of the downstream effects of the Fargo Dam.
- North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association A nonprofit corporation created in 1974 to coordinate rural water system programs on a statewide basis.
- North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association Represents 63 water resource districts.
- Garrison Diversion Conservation District (Chapter 61-24) The district includes Barnes, Benson,
  Bottineau, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, LaMoure, McHenry, McLean,
  Nelson, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Traill, Ward,
  and Wells Counties. Besides irrigation and restoring depleted water in certain lakes and rivers, the District
  has the purpose of providing water to eastern North Dakota through the Red River Valley Water Supply
  Project.
- Lake Agassiz Water Authority (Chapter 61-39) Comprised of cities and water districts in the Red River Valley, including the eastern 13 counties in North Dakota and three cities in Minnesota. The main focus of the authority is the Red River Valley Water Supply Project.