2023 HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS

HB 1320

2023 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES

Political Subdivisions Committee

Room JW327B, State Capitol

HB 1320 1/26/2023

Relating to ballot retention requirements.

Chairman Longmuir opened the hearing on HB 1320 at 9:00 A.M.. Members present: Chairman Longmuir, Vice Chairman Fegley, Rep. Hatlestad, Rep. Heilman, Rep. Holle, Rep. Jonas, Rep. Klemin, Rep. Motschenbacher, Rep. Ostlie, Rep. Rios, Rep. Toman, Rep. Warrey, Rep. Davis, Rep. Hager

Discussion Topics:

- Ballot retention requirement
- 25 month retention.
- Auditor's storage space

Rep. Kasper: Introduced the bill.

Hearing closed at 9:08 AM.

Rep. Heilman moved a do pass; Seconded by Rep Rios

Representatives	Vote
Representative Donald W. Longmuir	N
Representative Clayton Fegley	Ν
Representative Jayme Davis	Ν
Representative LaurieBeth Hager	Ν
Representative Patrick Hatlestad	Ν
Representative Matt Heilman	Y
Representative Dawson Holle	Y
Representative Jim Jonas	Ν
Representative Lawrence R. Klemin	Ν
Representative Mike Motschenbacher	Y
Representative Mitch Ostlie	Ν
Representative Nico Rios	Y
Representative Nathan Toman	Y
Representative Jonathan Warrey	Ν

Roll call vote: 5 Yes 9 No 0 Motion failed.

Chairman Longmuir adjourned at 9:25 AM.

DeLores Shimek, Committee Clerk

2023 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES

Political Subdivisions Committee

Room JW327B, State Capitol

HB 1320 1/26/2023

Relating to ballot retention requirements.

Chairman Longmuir reopened the hearing on HB 1320 at 3:49 P.M. Members present: Chairman Longmuir, Vice Chairman Fegley, Rep. Hatlestad, Rep. Heilman, Rep. Holle, Rep. Jonas, Rep. Klemin, Rep. Motschenbacher, Rep. Ostlie, Rep. Rios, Rep. Toman, Rep. Warrey, Rep. Davis, Rep. Hager

Discussion Topics:

Committee Action

Rep. Ostlie moved a do not pass; Seconded by Rep. Davis

Representatives	Vote
Representative Donald W. Longmuir	Y
Representative Clayton Fegley	Y
Representative Jayme Davis	Y
Representative LaurieBeth Hager	Y
Representative Patrick Hatlestad	Y
Representative Matt Heilman	N
Representative Dawson Holle	N
Representative Jim Jonas	Y
Representative Lawrence R. Klemin	Y
Representative Mike Motschenbacher	Y
Representative Mitch Ostlie	Y
Representative Nico Rios	N
Representative Nathan Toman	N
Representative Jonathan Warrey	Y

Roll Call Vote: 10 Yes 4 No 0 Absent Carrier: Rep. Hatlestad

Meeting closed at 3:56PM.

Delores Shimek, Committee Clerk

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE HB 1320: Political Subdivisions Committee (Rep. Longmuir, Chairman) recommends DO NOT PASS (10 YEAS, 4 NAYS, 0 ABSENT AND NOT VOTING). HB 1320 was placed on the Eleventh order on the calendar.