NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Roughrider Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management

10:05 a.m. Remarks by Chairman George J. Keiser

10:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Megan Houn, Director of Government Relations, and Mr. Luther

Stueland, Director of Health Policy and Exchanges, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, providing an overview of key provisions of the federal Affordable Care Act

(ACA) and the impact these provisions will have on North Dakota employers

Committee discussion

Comments by interested persons

12:30 p.m. Luncheon recess

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Maggie Anderson, Executive Director, Department of Human

Services, regarding the Medicaid expansion components of the ACA and the status of North Dakota's implementation of these components and by Ms. Jenny Witham, Director, Information Technology Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the Medicaid and children's health insurance program (CHIP) eligibility system and how this system will be incorporated into the health benefit

exchange

Committee discussion

Comments by interested persons

2:15 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Rebecca Ternes, Deputy Insurance Commissioner, Insurance

Department, providing an overview of the department's implementation of the ACA and a status report on the ACA, including reports on the status of the ACA multistate plan program, the history and status of essential health benefits in North Dakota, and a

review of 2013 legislation relating to the ACA

Committee discussion

Comments by interested persons

2:45 p.m. Computer presentations regarding implementation of the ACA

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jerry Jurena, President, North Dakota Hospital Association,

regarding quality measurement provisions in the ACA

3:25 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Barb Groutt, Chief Executive Officer, North Dakota Health Care

Review, Inc., regarding the past, current, and future status of quality improvement

efforts in North Dakota

Committee discussion

Comments by interested persons

4:25 p.m. Review of study background memorandum

4:35 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

4:50 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Rick Becker, Alan Fehr, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hogan, Nancy Johnson, Jim Kasper, Alex Looysen, Karen M. Rohr Senators Tyler Axness, Spencer Berry, Oley Larsen, Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel