NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 26, 2013 Bavendick Stateroom, National Energy Center of Excellence Bismarck State College Bismarck, North Dakota

- 8:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 6, 2013, meeting
- 8:35 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 8:40 a.m. Welcome by a representative of Bismarck State College and an update on local campus issues

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY

- 9:00 a.m. Presentations by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding:
 - Fundamentals of higher education finance, including revenues, expenses, and fund balances
 - Campus and system budgeting processes
 - · Productivity and efficiency improvements of the University System
 - University System internal auditing processes
 - · University System responses to recent audit findings
 - An update on the status of developing guidelines for the distribution of the \$5 million University System performance funding pool
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget of an overview of the development and the components of the higher education adjusted student credit-hour funding method approved by the 2013 Legislative Assembly
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by a representative of the Greater North Dakota Chamber regarding the activities of the North Dakota Higher Education Partnership and suggestions for areas the committee should review as part of its studies
- 11:50 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 12:40 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact, Minneapolis, Minnesota, and committee discussion regarding higher education accountability measures and performance funding measures
- 2:40 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of higher education

OTHER BUSINESS

- 3:10 p.m. Comments by a representative of the University System of an update on the status of various system issues
- 3:35 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams
- Senators Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor