MEETING NOTICE

Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET SECTION**.

Date: Wednesday, January 16, 2002

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Senate Chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda:

Presentations by the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund, including an updated forecast of 2001-03 biennium revenues, the use of moneys in the preliminary planning revolving fund, tobacco settlement proceeds, proposed changes to the 2003-05 budget forms, the continuation of agency budget form analysis of the feasibility and desirability of locating new positions, new programs, or new construction away from a central office setting, and a report on North Dakota's homeland security issues and budget impacts; by the Fargo Family HealthCare Center of an update regarding the center's financial operations and the request for debt forgiveness; by the Legislative Council staff of survey results of state employee bonuses, cash incentive awards, and temporary salary adjustments; by the Department of Human Services on the status of medical assistance expenditures, the federal medical assistance percentage for federal fiscal year 2003, and the number of North Dakota families receiving assistance from state programs; by the Workers Compensation Bureau on the status of the risk management workers' compensation program and additional FTE positions; status report on the establishment of the Department of Commerce; by Job Service North Dakota on the status of the job insurance trust fund; by the University System of a request to increase local funds spending authority for campus construction projects, and regarding college president retention awards; consideration of state agency requests that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require Budget Section approval; and presentations on budget tours made by the Higher Education Committee and the budget tour group for correctional facilities

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Ken Svedjan, Ole Aarsvold, Wesley R. Belter, LeRoy G. Bernstein, James Boehm, Merle Boucher, Rex R. Byerly, Ron Carlisle, Jeff Delzer, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Robert Huether, Keith Kempenich, James Kerzman, Kim Koppelman, Bob Martinson, David Monson, Bob Skarphol, Blair Thoreson, Mike Timm, Francis J. Wald, John M. Warner, Amy Warnke, Janet Wentz; Senators John M. Andrist, Bill Bowman, Randel Christmann, Tony Grindberg, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ray Holmberg, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Randy A. Schobinger, Ken Solberg, Bob Stenehjem, Harvey Tallackson, Russell T. Thane, Steven W. Tomac

Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Donald J. Wolf, Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/CKS