NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Monday, February 2, 1998 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the November 20, 1997, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Sparb Collins, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System; Mr. Roderick B. Crane, Vice President, and Ms. Leslie Thompson, Enrolled Actuary, The Segal Company, Denver, Colorado; and representatives of the Office of Management and Budget of the pension portability report developed pursuant to 1997 S.L., ch. 15, § 18
11:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the pension portability report
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Comments by Mr. Crane concerning the Uniform Management of Public Employee Retirement Systems Act
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Bismarck Firefighters Relief Association of the most recent actuarial valuation of the Bismarck Firefighters Relief Association pension plan
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Fargo Firefighters Relief Association of the most recent actuarial valuation of the Fargo Firefighters Relief Association pension plan
1:45 p.m.	Comments by Mr. Rod Backman, Director, Office of Management and Budget, concerning defined benefit pension plan and defined contribution pension plan issues
2:00 p.m.	Comments by Representative Tom Freier concerning defined benefit pension plan and defined contribution pension plan issues
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Tom Robinson (Ret.), Professor of Mathematics, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, concerning the conversion of teaching employees of the higher education system from the Teachers' Fund for Retirement to TIAA-CREF and defined benefit pension plan and defined contribution pension plan issues
2:45 p.m.	Distribution of information by the Legislative Council staff concerning the number of police and Highway Patrol agencies that have members who are not covered by Social Security
2:50 p.m.	Comments by Mr. Collins concerning the public employee health insurance benefits study
3:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Francis J. Wald (Chairman), James O. Coats, Glen Froseth, Leland Sabby, Allan Stenehjem

Senators Karen K. Krebsbach, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Carolyn Nelson