SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

CHAPTER 635

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001

(Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS. God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Jayson Leroy Graba, who served in the 52nd and 53rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 43, died October 9, 2022;

James O. "Jim" Kusler, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33, died November 7, 2021;

Richard F. "Dick" Larsen, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died August 27, 2022;

Marvin Orlen "Marv" Mutzenberger, who served in the 55th and 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, died July 19, 2021;

Donna Lou Speer Nalewaja, who served in the 50th through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, died September 30, 2021;

James George Smykowski, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 26, died December 9, 2021;

Wayne K. Stenehjem, who served in the 47th through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 42, died January 28, 2022;

Harvey Dean Tallackson, who served in the 45th through the 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 16, died July 27, 2022;

Benjamin C. "Ben" Tollefson, who served in the 57th through the 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, died December 16, 2021;

John Thomas "Jack" Traynor, who served in the 52nd through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died July 11, 2021;

Francis E. "Hank" Weber, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 11, died October 27, 2022;

Stanley "Stan" Wright, who served in the 43rd through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 4, died December 11, 2021; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Senators.

Filed March 16, 2023