23.8025.02001

FIRST ENGROSSMENT

Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL NO. 1088

Introduced by

23

24

Government and Veterans Affairs Committee

(At the request of the State Investment Board)

1	A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact subsection 1 of section 21-10-01 and subsection 4 of	
2	section 21-10-11 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to membership of the state	
3	investment board and the legacy and budget stabilization fund advisory board.	
4	BE IT ENAC	TED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:
5	SECTIO	N 1. AMENDMENT. Subsection 1 of section 21-10-01 of the North Dakota Century
6	Code is amended and reenacted as follows:	
7	1. The	e North Dakota state investment board consists of:
8	a.	The governor;
9	b.	The state treasurer;
10	C.	The commissioner of university and school lands;
11	d.	The director of workforce safety and insurance;
12	e.	The insurance commissioner director of the office of management and budget;
13	f.	ThreeTwo members of the teachers' fund for retirement board or the board's
14		designees who need not be members of the fund as selected by that board;
15	g.	Two of the elected members of the public employees retirement system board as
16		selected by that board;
17	h.	One member of the public employees retirement system board as selected by
18		that board who has expertise in finance and Two members, each of whom by
19		experience is familiar with institutional investments, appointed by the governor.
20		TheOne initial appointee shall serve a term of fivethree years, and one initial
21		appointee shall serve a term of five years. Subsequent appointees shall serve
22		five-year terms; and

selected by that board, to serve as a nonvoting member: and

One member of the legacy and budget stabilization fund advisory board, as

2

3

5

7 8

9 10

11 12 j. A member of the senate and a member of the house of representatives appointed by the legislative management.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Subsection 4 of section 21-10-11 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

4. The board consists of three members of the senate appointed by the senate majority leader, three members of the house of representatives appointed by the house majority leader, the president of the Bank of North Dakota or designee, the tax commissioner or designee, the insurance commissioner director of the office of management and budget or designee, and the state treasurer or designee. The board shall select a member from the senate or house of representatives to serve as chairman for no more than one consecutive year and must meet at the call of the chairman.