# **Tentative Agenda**

25.5098.02000



# SCHOOL FUNDING TASK FORCE

Wednesday, February 21, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the November 28, 2023, meeting</u>

## ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION STATE AID AND FUNDING FORMULA STUDY

- 10:05 a.m. <u>Presentations</u> by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding:
  - An update on enrollment and state school aid to be provided during the 2023-25 biennium;
  - Transportation cost per student for each school district and the percent of transportation costs reimbursed by school district; and
  - The cost to reimburse all school districts at the same percentage
- 10:20 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Steve Holen, Superintendent, McKenzie County Public School District #1, regarding a school transportation study conducted in partnership with the University of North Dakota
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the <u>Department of Public Instruction</u>, <u>North Dakota</u> <u>Council of Educational Leaders</u>, and <u>North Dakota Regional Education Association</u> regarding school district accountability related to special education funding
- 11:50 a.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion
- 12:00 noon Recess
- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Levi Bachmeier, Business Manager, West Fargo Public Schools, regarding the impact of the elimination of property tax on K-12 education
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion
- 1:40 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Bank of North Dakota regarding options for increasing funds available in the school construction assistance revolving loan fund
- 2:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of a school construction coalition regarding the work of the coalition
- 2:20 p.m. Presentation by Representatives <u>Richter</u> and <u>Murphy</u> regarding school construction scenarios
- 3:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion
- 3:30 p.m. Task force discussion and staff directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

### A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

#### Task Force Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Jay Elkin, David S. Rust

Representatives: Pat D. Heinert, Jim Jonas, Eric James Murphy, Anna S. Novak, David Richter, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Citizen Members: Levi Bachmeier, Brandt Dick, Rick Diegel, Steve Holen, Stephanie Hunter, Mike Lautenschlager, Maria Neset, Luke Schaefer, Adam Tescher

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst