

North Dakota Legislative Management

Tentative Agenda

25.5085.02000

Revised 3/12/2024

BUDGET SECTION

Wednesday, March 20, 2024 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:30 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the December 13, 2023, meeting

10:35 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:

- · Status of the general fund
- Reports from state agencies applying for federal grants estimated to be \$25,000 or more pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-27-27
- Irregularities in the fiscal practices of the state pursuant to Section 54-14-03.1
- A report pursuant to Section 16 of Senate Bill No. 2393 (2023) regarding executive branch agency use of funding from the new and vacant FTE funding pool and vacant position savings to date
- A report pursuant to Section 4 of Senate Bill No. 2393 (2023) regarding any uncommitted federal State Fiscal Recovery Fund appropriation authority transferred to the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
- Plans for the release of agency guidelines for developing the 2023-25 biennium executive budget and the status of the strategic review process

★10:55 a.m.

Budget Section consideration of the following state agency requests pursuant to Chapter 54-16 authorized by the Emergency Commission which require consideration by the Budget Section:

- Department of Public Instruction (Request #2114) The request is for a line item transfer of \$85 million of federal funds from the grants other grants line item to the emergency education relief schools line item to be used to reimburse school districts for qualified expenditures from the federal Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund
- Office of Management and Budget (Request #2115) The request is to increase federal funds spending authority by \$399,500 to reauthorize the spending of federal Governor's Emergency Education Relief funds, which expired on June 30, 2023
- **Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation** (Request #2117) The request is for a line item transfer of \$275,771 from carryover funding designated for deferred maintenance and extraordinary repairs to the adult services line item, to provide a total of \$1,825,771 for the construction of a new James River Correctional Center maintenance shop

11:10 a.m.

<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Job Service North Dakota on the actual job insurance trust fund balance and the targeted modified average high-cost multiplier pursuant to Section 52-02-17

11:15 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Housing Finance Agency of a report pursuant to Section 54-17-40 regarding the activities of the housing incentive fund

11:25 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Industrial Commission of an update on the fertilizer development incentive program authorized in House Bill No. 1546 (2023)
11:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Bank of North Dakota regarding lines of credit authorized for state agencies for the 2023-25 biennium, including lines of credit accessed and anticipated to be accessed during the biennium
11:55 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding institution actions in response to Minnesota's North Star Promise program
12:10 p.m.	Comments by the Chairman and Vice Chairman regarding a <u>proposal</u> to establish Budget Section divisions
12:25 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn

^{*}This item includes a request for Budget Section action.

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl (Chairman), Randy A. Burckhard, Kyle Davison, Dick Dever, Michael Dwyer, Robert Erbele, Kathy Hogan, David Hogue, Jerry Klein, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curt Kreun, Tim Mathern, Scott Meyer, Merrill Piepkorn, Jim P. Roers, David S. Rust, Donald Schaible, Ronald Sorvaag, Shawn Vedaa, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives: Bert Anderson, Glenn Bosch, Josh Boschee, Mike Brandenburg, Jay Fisher, Karla Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Keith Kempenich, Gary Kreidt, Mike Lefor, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Alisa Mitskog, Corey Mock, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Jon O. Nelson, Emily O'Brien, Brandy Pyle, David Richter, Dan Ruby, Mark Sanford, Mike Schatz, Randy A. Schobinger, Greg Stemen, Michelle Strinden, Steve Swiontek, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor