

## EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Friday, February 17, 2023 Pioneer Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Representative Josh Boschee, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m.

**Members present:** Representatives Josh Boschee, Bert Anderson, Claire Cory, Mitch Ostlie, Mary Schneider; Senators Brad Bekkedahl, Randy A. Burckhard, Dick Dever, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers, Shawn Vedaa

Members absent: Representatives Matthew Ruby, Paul J. Thomas

**Others present:** Senator Sean Cleary, Bismarck See <u>Appendix A</u> for additional persons present.

## AMENDMENT ACTUARIAL REPORT

The committee received technical comments, actuarial information, and comments by interested persons relating to the following amendments, over which the committee took jurisdiction, which affects, actuarially or otherwise, the retirement programs of state employees or employees of any political subdivision, and health and retiree health plans of state employees or employees of any political subdivision pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.4:

• <u>Amendments to Senate Bill No. 2239 [23.0883.01003]</u>, which provide for retirement employer contributions based on an actuarially determined contribution rate, an employee contribution increase, and an opportunity for defined benefit participants to join the defined contribution plan.

Senator Sean Cleary testified in favor of the amendments to Senate Bill No. 2239.

Mr. Scott Miller, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System, provided technical comments (<u>Appendix B</u>) and actuarial information (<u>Appendix C</u>) on the amendments to Senate Bill No. 2239.

It was moved by Senator Dever, seconded by Senator Mathern, and carried on a roll call vote that the committee give a favorable recommendation to the amendments to Senate Bill No. 2239. Representatives Boschee, Ostlie, and Schneider and Senators Bekkedahl, Burckhard, Dever, and Mathern voted "aye." Representatives Anderson and Cory and Senators Roers and Vedaa voted "nay."

No further business appearing, Chairman Boschee adjourned the meeting at 8:05 a.m.

Jennifer S. N. Clark Senior Counsel and Code Revisor

ATTACH:3