## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## **EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE**

Thursday, October 26, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the September 21, 2017, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

OVERVIEW OF THE RETIREMENT AND INVESTMENT OFFICE

10:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David J. Hunter, Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer,

Retirement and Investment Office, of an overview of the Retirement and Investment Office, including State Investment Board investments for the Teachers' Fund for

Retirement (TFFR) and the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS)

10:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Fay Kopp, Chief Retirement Officer, Teachers' Fund for

Retirement, of an overview of TFFR

Committee discussion and directives

## ACTUARIAL VALUATIONS OF THE TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT AND THE PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM

11:00 a.m. Presentations by Ms. Kim Nicholl, Senior Vice President, and Mr. Matthew A. Strom, Vice President, The Segal Group, Inc., of:

- An overview of the TFFR valuation process
- The July 1, 2017, actuarial valuation of TFFR

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Amelia Williams, Consultant, and Mr. Lance Weiss, Senior

Consultant, Gabriel, Roeder, Smith & Company Holdings, Inc., of:

- An overview of the PERS valuation process
- The July 1, 2017, actuarial valuations of PERS, the Highway Patrolmen's retirement system, Job Service retirement system, and Retiree Health Insurance Credit Program

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

2:30 p.m. Presentation by representatives of PERS providing followup comments from the

September 21, 2017, meeting

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mike Lefor (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Jason Dockter, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog,

Mark S. Owens, Roscoe Streyle

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Dick Dever, Karen K. Krebsbach, Oley Larsen, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn C.

Nelson

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel