NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 21, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

1:00 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 23, 2017, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota

Legislative Management

1:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the memorandum entitled *Employee*

Benefits Programs Committee - Statutory Responsibilities and Assigned Studies -

Background Memorandum

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives concerning general requirements for submission and review of legislative retirement, insurance, and retiree health insurance proposals

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT SERVICES

1:40 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Becky Sicble, Interim Director, Human Resource Management Services Division, Office of Management and Budget of:

- A report, as required under North Dakota Century Code Section 54-06-31, on the implementation, progress, and bonuses provided by state agency programs to provide bonuses to recruit or retain employees in hard-to-fill positions; and
- Biennial reports, as required under Sections 54-06-32, 54-06-33, and 54-06-34, summarizing reports of state agencies providing service awards to employees in classified service, providing employer-paid costs of training or educational courses to employees in classified service, and paying employee membership dues for professional organizations and membership dues for service clubs when required to do business or if the membership is primarily for the benefit of the state

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

2:10 p.m. Break

OVERVIEW OF RETIREMENT, INSURANCE, AND RETIREE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAMS

2:20 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Sparb Collins, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement

System, of an overview of the Public Employees Retirement System

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Mike Lefor (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Jason Dockter, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog,

Mark S. Owens, Roscoe Streyle

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Dick Dever, Karen K. Krebsbach, Oley Larsen, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn C.

Nelson

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel