Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2015

SENATE BILL NO. 2183 (Senators Campbell, Dotzenrod, Laffen, Wanzek) (Representatives Belter, Brandenburg)

AN ACT to amend and reenact section 4-14.2-02 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the membership of the northern crops council.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 4-14.2-02 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

- 4-14.2-02. Northern crops council Establishment Duties Chairman Meetings Compensation.
- 1. The northern crops council is established. The council shall establish policies for the operation of the northern crops institute.
 - 1. The council consists of:
 - a. The agriculture commissioner or the commissioner's designee;
 - <u>b.</u> The president of North Dakota state university of agriculture and applied science or the president's designee-:
 - b. A representative selected by the North Dakota wheat commission.
 - c. A representative selected by the North Dakota oilseed council.
 - d. A representative selected by the North Dakota barley council.
 - e. A representative selected by the North Dakota soybean council.
 - f. The agriculture commissioner or the commissioner's designee.
 - g. Five to seven producers of
 - c. The president and general manager of the North Dakota mill and elevator association;
 - d. An individual selected by the North Dakota barley council;
 - e. An individual selected by the North Dakota oilseed council;
 - f. An individual selected by the North Dakota soybean council;
 - g. An individual selected by the North Dakota wheat commission;
 - <u>h.</u> No fewer than five nor more than seven individuals who produce northern crops, selected by the members <u>designated</u> in subdivisions a through f.g. and
 - h.i. Up to No more than four representatives of industries that process northern crops, selected by the members designated in subdivisions a through fg.
 - 2. a. The term of office for each member of the council, except the president of North Dakota state university of agriculture and applied science and the agriculture commissioner,

- <u>referenced in subdivisions d through i of subsection 1</u> is three years, and those members are limited to two 3-year terms.
- <u>b.</u> Each term of office begins with the first reorganizational meeting after the date of <u>the member's</u> appointment.
- b. Notwithstanding subdivision a, during the 2011-13 biennium, the council shall:
 - (1) Stagger by lot the terms of the producers of northern crops so that no more than one of the producers' terms expires in June 2013; and
 - (2) Stagger by lot the terms of the representatives of industries that process northern crops so that no more than one of the representatives' terms expires in June 2013.
- 3. The chairman of the council must be a member of the council elected annually by a majority vote of the council. Provided, the members designated Annually, the council members shall select one of the individuals referenced in subdivisions a and fd through i of subsection 1 are not eliqible to serve as the chairman.
- 4. The council shall meet at least three times annually at such times and places as must be determined by the council and may meet in special meeting upon such call and notice as may be prescribed by rules adopted by the council.
- <u>5.</u> A council <u>If a member is unable to attend a meeting of the council, the member may be represented by a personan individual who has a written proxy from the member.</u>

S. B. NO. 2183 - PAGE 3

	President of the Senate			Speaker of the House	
	Secreta	ary of the Senate		Chief Clerk of the Hou	lse
		oill originated in the the the records of that l		e Sixty-fourth Legislativ e Bill No. 2183.	e Assembly of
Senate Vote:	Yeas 46	Nays 0	Absent 1		
House Vote:	Yeas 90	Nays 0	Absent 4		
Received by the Governor atM. on Approved atM. on					
л. рргочеса ат <u> </u>				Governor	
	ice this				, 2015,
				Secretary of State	