2:55 p.m.

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, September 22-23, 2016 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Thursday, September 22, 2016 Joint Meeting with the State Water Commission

Joint Meeting with the State Water Commission	
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 25-26, 2016, meeting
9:10 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:15 a.m.	Comments by Governor Jack Dalrymple
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ken Vein, Chairman, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding the Red River Valley Water Supply Project, 90/10 cost share arrangement with the state, and intake structures
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, Fargo, regarding the Fargo diversion project
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Blake Crosby, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, and Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association, regarding regionalization and water treatment plant operators
10:55 a.m.	Break
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Charles S. Vein, President, Advanced Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc., regarding regionalization and life cycle cost comparison for water supply projects
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Terry Steinwand, Director, Game and Fish Department, regarding zebra mussels in the Red River
11:40 a.m.	Luncheon recess
12:40 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Wax, Community Programs Director, Office of Rural Development, United States Department of Agriculture, regarding the 2017 fiscal year budget for rural water supply and the fee schedule guide for engineering services
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Jennifer Verleger, Assistant Attorney General, regarding the Northwest Area Water Supply Project
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lance Gaebe, Commissioner, Department of Trust Lands, regarding water line easements on state lands
1:35 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Glatt, Section Chief, Environmental Health Section, Department of Health, regarding regionalization of water supply
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Laschkewitsch, Director of Administrative Services, State Water Commission, regarding the State Water Commission project summary
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Verleger regarding the Pembina Dike
2:30 p.m.	Break
2:40 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Zimmerman, Director, Parks and Recreation Department,

regarding the status of recreational development funding

to Western Area Water Supply Project

Presentation by Representative Bert Anderson regarding Crosby's decision to connect

3:15 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff and committee discussion relating to bill drafts [17.0223.01000], [17.0224.02000], and [17.0259.01000] regarding the use of quick take eminent domain by water resource boards
3:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons on bill drafts and use of quick take eminent domain by water resource boards
4:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff and discussion regarding authority of a water resource board to exercise eminent domain in other water resource districts
4:20 p.m.	Open committee and commission discussion
Friday, September 23, 2016	
9:00 a.m.	Presentation by Richland County Commissioners regarding the Fargo diversion project
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Bethany Kurz, Principal Hydrogeologist, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding the Bakken Water Opportunities Assessment report
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Missouri River stakeholders regarding an update on Missouri River issues
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the United States Bureau of Reclamation regarding municipal, residential, and industrial funding
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Craig Odenbach, Director of Water Development Division, State Water Commission, regarding legal drain policy
10:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons on quick take eminent domain
10:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and decision on bill drafts regarding the use of quick take eminent domain by water resource boards
11:15 a.m.	Final motions and directives to the Legislative Council staff
11:45 a.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Dick Anderson, Tom Kading, Naomi Muscha, Marvin E. Nelson, Jon O. Nelson, Todd Porter, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Greg Westlind, Denton Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Ray Holmberg, Gary A. Lee, Larry Luick, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, George Sinner, Ronald Sorvaag, Jessica Unruh

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel