NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, June 14-15, 2016 South Convention Room, Sleep Inn Minot, North Dakota

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

10:15 a.m.

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 7-8, 2016, meeting

10:05 a.m. Chairman's comments

10:10 a.m. Update by Senator Gary A. Lee on recent meetings of the Devils Lake Outlet Management Advisory Board

Presentations regarding Devils Lake Basin water issues:

- Comments by Representative Curt Hofstad and overview of Devils Lake Basin issues
- Presentation by Mr. Jeff Frith, Board Manager, Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board
- Comments by interested persons regarding waters of the Devils Lake Basin

11:45 a.m. Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the St. Paul District of the United States Army Corps of Engineers, Mr. Ferris Chamberlin, Chief of the Water Management District, and Ms. Liz Nelsen, Regulator, Souris River Basin

1:20 p.m. Presentations regarding Souris River Basin issues:

- Comments by Representative Dick Anderson and overview of Souris River Basin downstream issues
- Comments by Mr. Dave Ashley, Chairman, Souris River Joint Board, on status and goals of the Mouse River Enhanced Flood Protection Project
- Comments by Mr. Lynn Kongslie, Mouse River Coalition, on effects of Mouse River management on downstream landowners
- Comments by Mr. Cliff Hanretty, Chairman, Eaton Flood Irrigation District, on efforts to mitigate downstream flood impact
- Mr. Frank Durbian, Souris River Basin Complex Manager, United States Fish and Wildlife Service
- Comments of interested persons regarding Souris River Basin water issues

2:30 p.m. Quick take eminent domain study discussion

- Comments by the Chairman on the quick take eminent domain study
- Legislative Council staff review of water resource district eminent domain authority, 2015 House Bill No. 1095, Senate Bill No. 2015, and the Governor's veto
- Comments by interested persons

3:15 p.m. Committee discussion

3:30 p.m. Recess

Optional tour of Minot area water issue sites

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

9:00 a.m. Chairman's comments

9:10 a.m. Update by Senator Ronald Sorvaag on discussions with engineers regarding concerns

for water supply projects

9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Laschkewitsch, Director of Administrative Services, State

Water Commission, regarding the Commission's monthly project/grants/contract fund

balance sheet update and projects priority list

9:40 a.m. Comments by Representative Roscoe Streyle and overview of Minot flood control and

water projects

9:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dan Jonasson, Public Works Director, City of Minot, and Mr. Ryan

Ackerman, Administrator, Souris River Joint Board, to provide updates on flood protection measures in Minot and the Souris River Basin and a Souris River dams

operation and Northwest Area Water Supply Project update

10:20 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Continuation of presentation by Mr. Jonasson and Mr. Ackerman

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Cindy Hemphill, Finance Director, City of Minot, regarding local

share of flood protection costs, United States Department of Housing and Urban

Development resiliency grant, and buyouts of flood-damaged properties

11:25 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Wanda McFadyen, Executive Director, Assiniboine Basin

Commission, on the history and activities of the commission

11:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State

Department of Health, regarding water well testing and dissemination of information to

the public

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentations by Mr. Mike Williams, Fargo City Commissioner, and Ms. Mary Scherling,

Cass County Commissioner, of an update on the Fargo interior flood control project and

the Red River Valley diversion project

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Sean Fredericks, Attorney, Red River Joint Water Resource

District, regarding quick take eminent domain authority for water resource districts, exercise of eminent domain for property outside the district, and potential effect of an

environmental impact statement for the diversion project

2:00 p.m. Quick take eminent domain discussion

Chairman's comments

Comments of interested persons

3:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

3:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Dick Anderson, Curt Hofstad, Tom Kading, Naomi Muscha, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Mark Sanford, Roscoe

Strevle, Denton Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Ray Holmberg, Gary A. Lee, Larry Luick, Larry J. Robinson, Donald

Schaible, George Sinner, Ronald Sorvaag, Jessica Unruh

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Legal Division Director

Claire Ness, Counsel