NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, March 7-8, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, March 10:00 a.m.	17, 2016 Call to order Roll call
	Consideration of the minutes of the November 4-5, 2015, meeting
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the State Engineer's office regarding purpose funding budget information and balances
10:15 a.m.	Presentation regarding rural water systems project status by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association
10:25 a.m.	Presentation regarding municipal water systems project status by Mr. Blake Crosby, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities
10:35 a.m.	Presentation regarding water resource district project status by Mr. Mike Dwyer, Executive Director, North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Todd Sando, State Engineer, regarding repair versus maintenance policy, Missouri River stakeholder issues, and other water topics
11:25 a.m.	Presentations relating to Garrison Diversion Conservancy District project issues:
	 Presentation of a Red River Valley Water Supply Project update by Mr. Ken Vein, Grand Forks County representative, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District Board of Directors
	 Presentation by Mr. Vein on the status of the United States Bureau of Reclamation's municipal, rural, and industrial water project funding
11:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Vein of an update on the Grand Forks Water Treatment Plant
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chris Marohl, Legislative Director, staff of Congressman Kevin Cramer, regarding status of waters of the United States rules under federal Environmental Protection Agency consideration
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chris Kadrmas, Legislative Council staff, regarding funding sources for selected water projects
1:30 p.m.	Presentation of a Western Area Water Supply Project update by Mr. Mark Owan, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Western Area Water Supply Authority
1:50 p.m.	Presentation of a Western Area Water Supply Project funding and community water facility loan fund status update by Mr. Eric Hardmeyer, President, Bank of North Dakota
2:30 p.m.	Break
2:45 p.m.	Presentation regarding the drinking water state revolving loan fund by Mr. David Bruschwein, Program Manager, State Department of Health
3:15 p.m.	Presentation of an update on the Northwest Area Water Supply Project by a representative of the State Engineer's office
3:30 p.m.	Public comments regarding committee studies
4:00 p.m.	Recess

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

9:00 a.m.	Presentation regarding the United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development Water Program by Mr. Ryan Taylor, State Director, and Mr. Mark Wax, Community Programs Director, United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development
9:15 a.m.	Consideration of the State Water Commission water project cost-share policy update
9:30 a.m.	Presentation of a Southwest Water Authority project update by Mr. Larry Bares, City of Dickinson representative, Southwest Water Authority Board of Directors
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman on the committee quick take study
10:20 a.m.	Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on quick take eminent domain authority of water resource districts
10:30 a.m.	Public comments regarding quick take eminent domain authority and other committee studies
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, Fargo, regarding the F-M Area Diversion Project
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dean Bangsund, Research Scientist, Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics, North Dakota State University, regarding a North Dakota State University Red River upstream impact study
11:40 a.m.	Presentation by Col. Daniel C. Koprowski, St. Paul District Commander, Army Corps of Engineers, regarding the private-public partnership split delivery plan for the F-M Area Diversion Project
12:10 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
12:20 p.m.	Comments by the Chairman regarding upcoming committee meetings
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Dick Anderson, Curt Hofstad, Tom Kading, Naomi Muscha, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Denton Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Ray Holmberg, Gary A. Lee, Larry Luick, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, George Sinner, Ronald Sorvaag, Jessica Unruh

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Legal Division Director