# NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

# **TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, August 20, 2015 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

## UNIFORM TRUCK PERMITTING STUDY

- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the uniform truck permitting study
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Highway Patrol regarding the uniform truck permitting study
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Association of Oil and Gas Producing Counties regarding the uniform truck permitting study
- 9:55 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the uniform truck permitting study

## TRUCK SIZE AND WEIGHT HARMONIZATION STUDY

- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the truck size and weight harmonization study
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Transportation on its truck size and weight harmonization study
- 10:25 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Western States Transportation Alliance regarding truck size and weight harmonization
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the truck size and weight harmonization study

## REQUIRED MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE STUDY

- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the required motor vehicle insurance study
- 10:55 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Insurance Department regarding required motor vehicle insurance
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Association of North Dakota Insurers regarding no-fault insurance
- 11:25 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Professional Insurance Agents of North Dakota regarding no-fault insurance
- 11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the required motor vehicle insurance study
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess

#### SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION FUNDING DISTRIBUTIONS TO POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STUDY

- 12:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the special transportation funding distributions to political subdivisions study
- 12:55 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Transportation regarding the status of 2015-17 special transportation funding distributions, county major collector roadway miles, and the special transportation funding distributions to political subdivisions study
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute regarding its transportation infrastructure needs study
- 1:25 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the special transportation funding distributions to political subdivisions study

#### UPPER GREAT PLAINS TRANSPORTATION INSTITUTE CHANGE OF ADMINISTRATIVE AUTHORITY STUDY

- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute change of administrative authority study
- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute regarding the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute change of administrative authority study
- 1:55 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute change of administrative authority study

## OTHER DUTIES OF THE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the other duties of the Transportation Committee
- 2:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the other duties of the Transportation Committee
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Dan Ruby (Chairman), Bert Anderson, Mike Brandenburg, Ben Hanson, Karen Karls, William E. Kretschmar, Lisa Meier, Mike Schatz

Senators: Robert Erbele, Jerry Klein, Joe Miller, David O'Connell, Dave Oehlke, David S. Rust, George Sinner

Staff Contact: Chris Kadrmas, Fiscal Analyst