9:00 a.m.

Call to order

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 12, 2015 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Roll call Comments by Chairman Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management 9:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jennifer Verleger, Assistant Attorney General, on the waters of the United States rules 9:35 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the Water **Topics Overview Committee** 10:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District on the Red River Valley Water Supply Project and municipal, rural, and industrial program funding 10:35 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Todd Sando, State Engineer, on an agency and State Water Commission overview 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Sando on the cost-share policy 12:00 noon Luncheon recess 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Sando on the project priority list, designated purpose funding, and reimbursing rural and municipal water systems for cost-share changes 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Sando on temporary water permits Presentation by a representative of the F-M Area Diversion Authority on authorization of 2:30 p.m. the diversion project and the status of the self-insured crop insurance pool; mitigation efforts, alternatives, and costs; easements; and the project budget Presentation by a representative of the MNDak Upstream Coalition on the impacts of 3:00 p.m. the Fargo flood control project and mitigation efforts, alternatives, and costs Comments on study topics by interested persons in attendance 3:20 p.m. 3:40 p.m. Committee discussion and directives 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Dick Anderson, Curt Hofstad, Tom Kading, Naomi Muscha, Jon O. Nelson, Marvin E. Nelson, Todd Porter, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Denton Zubke

- Senators: Jonathan Casper, Ray Holmberg, Gary A. Lee, Larry Luick, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, George Sinner, Ronald Sorvaag, Jessica Unruh
- Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel