NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET SECTION

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:30 a.m.** Call to order Roll call

9:35 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the Duties and Responsibilities of the Budget Section for the 2015-16 interim

9:40 a.m. Presentations by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:

- Status of the general fund
- Report on any tobacco settlement proceeds
- Reports from state agencies applying for federal grants estimated to be \$25,000 or more pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-27-27
- Irregularities in the fiscal practices of the state pursuant to Section 54-14-03.1

10:00 a.m. Committee consideration of the following state agency requests pursuant to Chapter 54-16 that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require consideration by the Budget Section

- State Auditor (Request #1859) Request to transfer \$80,000 from the operating expenses line item to the capital assets line item for a remodeling project on the third floor of the Capitol tower
- Adjutant General (Request #1860) Request to authorize, in accordance with Section 37-17.1-27, the expenditure of \$5 million from the state disaster relief fund for the 2013-15 biennium, to pay off Bank of North Dakota loans which were used for state match for presidentially declared disasters that occurred during the 2013-15 biennium as appropriated in 2015 Senate Bill No. 2023
- Adjutant General (Request #1861) Request to authorize, in accordance with Section 37-17.1-27, the expenditure of \$27,307,427 from the state disaster relief fund for the state share of previous disasters still being processed and other disaster-related expenses as appropriated in 2015 Senate Bill No. 2016
- Attorney General (Request #1864) Request for \$70,000 from the state contingencies appropriation for the operating expenses line item to reimburse counties and cities for prosecution witness fees in cases heard in district and juvenile court
- State Treasurer (Request #1865) Request to transfer \$500,000 from the township allocation line item to the property tax relief credits line item to allow full payments to counties under the 12 percent property tax relief credit program for the 2013-15 biennium

For information purposes only, the Emergency Commission asked that the Budget Section be notified of the following state agency request which was approved by the **Emergency Commission**

• Secretary of State (Request #1862) - Request for \$26,543.02 from the state contingencies appropriation for the election reform line item to provide a 5 percent match required for federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) funding received during the

*

*

2009-11 biennium. The Secretary of State received \$526,320 in federal funding for HAVA during the 2009-11 biennium. In anticipation of the agency receiving the HAVA funding, the 2009 Legislative Assembly provided \$30,000 from the general fund for the required 5 percent matching funds. However, after the session an error occurred resulting in the general fund money not being allocated to the election reform line item. An audit later identified the error resulting in the need for the request for \$26,543.02, which includes \$26,316 for a required 5 percent match plus \$227.02 in interest, for the election reform line item to meet federal requirements.

10:15 a.m. Presentation of a report from the Legacy and Budget Stabilization Fund Advisory Board

regarding the status of the legacy fund and the budget stabilization fund investments

10:20 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

10:30 a.m. Adjourn

*This item includes a request for Budget Section action.

**15 minutes after conclusion of the Conference Committee meeting on Senate Bill No. 2022 (approximately 9:30 a.m.)

Committee Members

Senators: Gary A. Lee (Chairman), Bill L. Bowman, Ron Carlisle, Robert Erbele, Joan Heckaman, Ray Holmberg, Ralph Kilzer, Jerry Klein, Karen K. Krebsbach, Tim Mathern, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Ronald Sorvaag, Terry M. Wanzek, Rich Wardner

Representatives: Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, Tracy Boe, Randy Boehning, Mike Brandenburg, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Ron Guggisberg, Kathy Hogan, Richard G. Holman, Keith Kempenich, Gary Kreidt, Bob Martinson, Corey Mock, David Monson, Jon O. Nelson, Kenton Onstad, Chet Pollert, Mark Sanford, Jim Schmidt, Peter F. Silbernagel, Robert J. Skarphol, Roscoe Streyle, Blair Thoreson, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Chris Kadrmas, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor