NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, October 28-29, 2014 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the May 8, 2014, meeting

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Julie Ellingson, Executive Vice President, North Dakota

Stockmen's Association, regarding the effects of 2013 Senate Bill No. 2211 on the

various sectors of the agricultural industry

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Nancy Jo Bateman, Executive Director, North Dakota Beef

Commission, regarding the history of the beef checkoff in North Dakota and the commission's past and present funding of research, education programs, and market

development efforts

10:15 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to apiaries

Comments by others regarding the bill draft

Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation of a report by the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education

regarding its evaluation of research activities and expenditures

2:15 p.m. Break

2:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to soil classifiers

Comments by others regarding the bill draft

Committee discussion

4:00 p.m. Recess

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

9:00 a.m. Call to order

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the Milk Marketing

Board

Comments by others regarding the bill draft

Committee discussion

11:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the study of

North Dakota Century Code sections that relate to agriculture for the purpose of recommending changes to laws that are found to be irrelevant, inconsistent, illogically

arranged, or unclear in their intent and direction

Comments by others regarding the bill draft

Committee discussion

12:00 noon Comments by others

Committee discussion

Staff directives Adjournment

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Bob Hunskor,

Dennis Johnson, Dwight Kiefert, Diane Larson, David S. Rust, Wayne Trottier,

Margaret Wall

Senators: Bill L. Bowman, Jim Dotzenrod, Robert Erbele, Larry Luick, Joe Miller

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel