## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday, August 25, 2014 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 1, 2014, meeting
9:05 a.m.	DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE LAWS REVIEW  Review by Senator Armstrong of a bill draft relating to alternative charges for driving under the influence (DUI) refusals and DUI charges and a bill draft relating to the time an offender is enrolled in the 24/7 sobriety program
9:15 a.m.	Testimony from interested persons regarding the bill drafts
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the mandatory minimum of 12 months' participation in the 24/7 sobriety program and its affect on the Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and Probationers
9:35 a.m.	Testimony from interested persons regarding the bill draft
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding the DUI bill drafts
10:00 a.m.	UNIFORM LAWS RECOMMENDATIONS  Presentation by Mr. Jay E. Buringrud, Commissioner, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the 2015 legislative session, and review by the Legislative Council staff and members of the North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws of a bill draft relating to the Uniform Act on the Prevention and Remedies for Human Trafficking
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:50 a.m.	ASSESSMENT OF COURT FEES STUDY  Review by the Legislative Council staff of two bill drafts relating to the consolidation of court fees into a single fee
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Robin Huseby, Executive Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, relating to the bill drafts
11:10 a.m.	Testimony from interested persons regarding the bill drafts
11:20 a.m.	Committee discussion of the bill drafts
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Murray Sagsveen, Chief of State, North Dakota University System, of an update on State Board of Higher Education actions regarding intellectual property policies for University System institutions
11:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and other business

## **Committee Members**

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Stanley W. Lyson, Mac Schneider, Margaret Sitte

Representatives: Lois Delmore, Ben W. Hanson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Gary Paur

Staff Contact: Vonette J. Richter, Assistant Code Revisor

Adjourn

12:15 p.m.