8:30 a.m.

Call to order

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE JOINT MEETING WITH HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Gransberg Community Room, Gorecki Alumni Center, University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota

0.30 a.III.	Roll call
8:35 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Lisa Feldner, Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Institutional Research, North Dakota University System, regarding remedial education
9:00 a.m.	Presentations regarding the process of preparing university students for the teaching profession by:
	 Dr. Sarah Anderson, Assistant Professor of Education, Mayville State University, Division of Education and Psychology;
	 Dr. Gary Thompson, Dean, School of Education and Graduate Studies, Valley City State University;
	 Dr. Stacy Duffield, Associate Professor, School of Education, North Dakota State University; and
	 Dr. Robert Hill, Dean, College of Education and Human Development, University of North Dakota
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Aimee Copas, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, regarding required and suggested educational preparation for school and school district administrators, and professional development requirements and opportunities
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Anne Clapper, Assistant Professor, School of Education, North Dakota State University, regarding school district administrator preparation programs
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction, regarding the availability, delivery, and cost of providing advanced placement and dual-credit courses
12:00 noon	Committee discussion
	Staff directives
	Adjournment

Committee Members Education Funding Committee

Senators: Tim Flakoll (Chairman), Howard C. Anderson Jr., Joan Heckaman, Richard Marcellais, Nicole Poolman, Donald Schaible

Representatives: Mark A. Dosch, Jessica Haak, Patrick Hatlestad, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, Ben Koppelman, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Mike Nathe (Vice Chairman), Karen M. Rohr, David S. Rust, Mark Sanford, John Wall

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel

Higher Education Funding Committee

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams

Senators: Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach (Vice Chairman), Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor