NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, May 14, 2014 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 19, 2014, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

9:05 a.m. Testimony from Ms. Rebecca Ternes, Deputy Insurance Commissioner, Insurance

Department, regarding the status of implementation of the federal Affordable Care Act

(ACA)

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

9:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Maggie D. Anderson, Executive Director, Department of Human

Services, regarding the status of implementation of Medicaid Expansion

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

9:45 a.m. Presentation by members of the North Dakota Pharmacists Association regarding the

state's implementation of Medicaid Expansion

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

10:30 a.m. Panel discussion of insurers that provide health insurance in the state through the

Marketplace regarding the status of implementing the ACA

Committee discussion and directives

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joshua Goldberg, Health Policy and Legislative Advisor, National

Association of Insurance Commissioners, regarding the ACA's Section 1332 Waiver for

Innovation

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

12:30 p.m. Luncheon recess

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Shannon Breuer, Partner, Eide Bailly LLP, regarding employer

responsibilities, opportunities, and the latest changes relating to the ACA

Committee discussion and directives

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. Presentations by Mr. Matthew Perry, Research Analyst, Job Service North Dakota, and

Ms. Mary Amundson, Assistant Professor, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, regarding workforce needs in the state's health care delivery system

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:15 p.m. Presentation of bill drafts relating to:

- Continuation of the Legislative Management study of the ACA and the state's health care delivery system;
- Health insurance coverage of services provided via telemedicine; and
- Professionals authorized to participate in mental health commitment proceedings

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: George J. Keiser (Chairman), Rick Becker, Alan Fehr, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hogan, Nancy Johnson, Jim Kasper, Alex Looysen, Karen M. Rohr

Senators: Tyler Axness, Spencer Berry, Oley Larsen, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel