## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Reimers Conference Room, Alumni Center, North Dakota State University
Fargo, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the January 15, 2014, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Brad Gibbens, Deputy Director, Center for Rural Health, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, regarding the most recent

community health needs assessments of North Dakota critical access hospitals as

required under the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA)

Committee discussion

9:40 a.m. Comments regarding the ACA grandfathered status of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) uniform group insurance plan and regarding whether it may be possible

to increase coordinated care in the uniform group insurance plan by:

• Ms. Kathy Allen, Benefits Programs Manager, Public Employees Retirement Sysyem;

· Mr. Kevin Schoenborn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota; and

 Ms. Eunah Fischer, M.D., Internal Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota

Comments by Mr. Tony Tiefenthaler, Chief Strategy Officer, Sanford Health, regarding coordinated care efforts being taken in South Dakota with state employees

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

10:10 a.m. Comments by Ms. Julie Schwab, Director, Medical Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding existing programs and possible opportunities for Medicaid,

Medicaid Expansion, and the children's health insurance program to utilize coordinated

care

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

10:30 a.m. Presentations by:

• Mr. Neil Scharpe, Navigator Project Director, North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities, regarding the experience of navigators in conducting outreach and enrollment under the ACA:

- Ms. Lori Kinn, Family HealthCare, Fargo, regarding the experience of certified application counselors in conducting outreach and enrollment under the ACA; and
- A representative of the North Dakota National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors regarding enrollment under the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

11:15 a.m. Comments by Mr. Adam W. Hamm, Commissioner, Insurance Department, regarding the

status of implementation of the ACA

Committee discussion

11:30 a.m. Luncheon recess

12:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Robert Olson, M.D., and Ms. Kathryn Cameron, CNS, Sanford

Health, Fargo, regarding issues relating to scope of practice for mental health

commitment proceedings

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

1:15 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Maggie D. Anderson, Executive Director, Department of Human

Services, regarding the status of the implementation of the Department of Human

Services eligibility system

Presentations by Ms. Anderson; Ms. Schwab; and Ms. Lisa Carlson, Director of Planning

and Regulation, Sanford Health, regarding the status of Medicaid Expansion and issues

related to Medicaid Expansion

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

2:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Kathy Robley and Mr. Brad Bartle, Comprehensive Health

Association of North Dakota, regarding how the Comprehensive Health Association of North Dakota (CHAND) has been impacted by the ACA and whether the implementation

of the ACA will necessitate any changes to the CHAND program

Committee discussion

2:30 p.m. Panel discussion of insurers regarding the status of implementing the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

3:15 p.m. Presentation and discussion of bill drafts relating to health insurance reimbursement for

medical services provided via telemedicine and relating to continuing the Legislative Management study of the state's health care delivery system and implementation of the

ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

3:55 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: George J. Keiser (Chairman), Rick Becker, Alan Fehr, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot

Glassheim, Kathy Hogan, Nancy Johnson, Jim Kasper, Alex Looysen, Karen M. Rohr

Senators: Tyler Axness, Spencer Berry, Oley Larsen, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel