# NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

### **Tentative Agenda**

# **HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE**

Thursday, February 20, 2014 Plains Room, Student Center, North Dakota State College of Science Wahpeton, North Dakota

- 8:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the January 23, 2014, meeting Comments by the Chairman
- 8:35 a.m. Welcome and comments by Dr. John Richman, President, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton

# **HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY**

- 8:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget of an update on the higher education funding formula, including potential changes that may be recommended for the formula
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding student tuition levels
- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System of an overview of two-year institutions
- 10:30 a.m. Committee tour of Bisek Hall
- 11:40 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 12:30 p.m. Presentations by representatives of University System two-year institutions regarding private business partnerships, the TrainND program, challenges facing the institutions, funding needs, and tuition levels

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

- 2:45 p.m. Comments by a representative of the University System of an update on system issues
- 2:55 p.m. Committee discussion regarding potential areas for committee action
- 3:15 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams

Senators: Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor