NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE WITH JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Prairie Rose Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University
Fargo, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairmen
9:05 a.m.	Welcome by Dr. Dean L. Bresciani, President, North Dakota State University, Fargo
9:10 a.m.	Comments by Senator Tony Grindberg regarding the history and vision of the Red River Valley Research Corridor
9:25 a.m.	Presentations by Dr. Phyllis E. Johnson, University of North Dakota, and Dr. Kelly A. Rusch, North Dakota State University, regarding university research activities
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jason Jenkins, Office of General Counsel, North Dakota University System, regarding the legal basics of intellectual property and an overview of State Board of Higher Education and institution intellectual property policies
11:10 a.m.	Presentations by Mr. Dale Zetocha, North Dakota State University, and Mr. Michael Moore, University of North Dakota, regarding the technology transfer process
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
12:45 p.m.	Comments by representatives of private sector entities regarding views and experiences with higher education in research, property rights, and commercialization
1:55 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:10 p.m.	Committee discussion
2:25 p.m.	Committee tour of selected research facilities at North Dakota State University
5:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members Higher Education Funding Committee

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams

Senators: Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Judiciary Committee

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Stanley W. Lyson, Mac Schneider, Margaret Sitte

Representatives: Lois Delmore, Ben W. Hanson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Gary Paur

Staff Contact: Vonette J. Richter, Counsel