Revised 9/5/12

## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 6, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes from the July 25, 2012, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Remarks by the chairman

## AFFORDABLE CARE ACT

- 9:10 a.m. Testimony by Mr. Adam W. Hamm, Insurance Commissioner, Insurance Department, regarding the Affordable Care Act (ACA), including:
  - Status of the essential health benefits deadlines and options
  - Status of states' implementation of the health benefit exchange requirements under the ACA
  - Overview of how essential health benefits relate to the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Higgins, Actuary, INS Consultants, Inc., of the report on the analysis of the state's essential health benefits benchmark plans

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Panel discussion with stakeholders on the intended and unintended consequences of selecting different essential health benefits benchmark plans

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

11:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Maggie Anderson, Interim Executive Director, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the department's implementation of the ACA and the issues related to the state's option to expand Medicaid under the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

- 11:30 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 12:30 p.m. Comments by Ms. Courtney Koebele, North Dakota Medical Association; Mr. Tim Blasl, North Dakota Hospital Association; Mr. Douglas Okland, Sanford Health; and Mr. Stan Salwei, Altru Health, regarding:
  - The frontier amendment provision of the ACA
  - The Independent Payment Advisory Board provision of the ACA
  - Charity care and bad debt

1:00 p.m. Comments by Mr. Rod St. Aubyn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, regarding the costs of implementing the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

- 1:10 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Donald L. Clark, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Jim Kasper, Gary Kreidt, Lisa Meier, Ralph Metcalf, Marvin E. Nelson, Karen M. Rohr, Robin Weisz, Lonny B. Winrich

Senators Spencer D. Berry, Dick Dever, Jerry Klein, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel