Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2009

HOUSE BILL NO. 1278 (Representatives Porter, R. Kelsch) (Senator Cook)

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections 61-24.5-04, 61-24.5-07, and 61-24.5-08 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to members of the board of directors of the southwest water authority.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-04 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-04. Board of directors - Officers - Meetings - Compensation. The authority must be governed by a board of directors who must be chosen in accordance with this chapter. One director must be elected from each county within the authority, and two directors must be elected in the city of Dickinson, and one director must be elected in the city of Mandan. The director from Stark County may not be a resident of the city of Dickinson. The director from Morton County may not be a resident of Mandan. The board shall elect from the directors a chairman, vice chairman, and secretary. A majority of the directors constitutes a quorum for the purpose of conducting the business of the board. The board shall meet at the time and place designated by the secretary. Board members are entitled to receive as compensation an amount determined by the board not to exceed the amount per day provided members of the legislative council under section 54-35-10 and must be reimbursed for their mileage and expenses in the amount provided for by sections 44-08-04 and 54-06-09.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-07 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-07. Election of city directors of the southwest water authority. Any person who is a resident and qualified elector of the city of Dickinson <u>or Mandan</u> who aspires to the office of director of the southwest water authority shall, at least sixty days and before five p.m. on the sixtieth day before the election, file with the city auditor a petition signed by not less than ten percent of the number of qualified electors who voted for that office in the last city election, except that the petition for the first election must be signed by not less than two hundred qualified electors. Signers of a petition must reside within the corporate limits of the city, and each signer of the petition shall include with the signer's name the signer's mailing address. The petition must include the candidate's name, post-office address, and the title of the office of the southwest water authority for which the candidate is seeking election.

H. B. No. 1278 - Page 2

Subscribed and sworn to before me on _	,
	Notary Public

Upon receipt of the petition the city auditor shall without fee place the name of the aspirant on the election ballot as a candidate for the office of director. The candidate or candidates, depending on whether one or two directors are being elected, receiving the highest number of votes are elected. The provisions of chapter 40-21 govern the election of directors from the city of Dickinson <u>or Mandan</u> for the southwest water authority.

SECTION 3. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-08 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-08. Term of office of directors - Oath of office - Bonds. Members of the board of directors of the authority hold office for a term of four years, until a successor has been duly elected and qualified. If the office of any director becomes vacant by reason of the failure of any director elected at any election to qualify or for any other reason, the director's successor must be appointed to fill the vacancy by the board of county commissioners of the county in which the vacancy occurs, or by the governing body of the city of Dickinson or Mandan, as appropriate. A director appointed to fill a vacancy shall hold office for the unexpired term of the director whose office has become vacant, and until a successor has been elected and qualified.

Members of the board of directors elected from a county must be elected at the primary election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election. Members of the board of directors elected from the city of Dickinson or Mandan must be elected at the municipal election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election.

In 2002 all directors' terms are deemed to have expired, and each county shall elect one director to serve on the board of directors and the city of Dickinson shall elect two directors to serve on the board of directors. In 2002 one director from the city of Dickinson and directors from Adams, Billings, Dunn, Grant, Oliver, and Slope Counties must be elected for two-year terms and in 2004 and thereafter must be elected for four-year terms. In 2010 the director from the city of Mandan must be elected to a four-year term. All ether subsequent directors elected in 2002 must be elected for four-year terms.

Before assuming the duties of the office of director, each director shall take and subscribe to the oath of office prescribed by law for civil officers. The authority treasurer must be bonded in an amount as the board may prescribe.

Speaker of the House Chief Clerk of the House					President of the Senate		
					Secretary of the Senate		
This certifies th Assembly of No	at the with	nin bill o a and is	riginated i known on	n the Ho the reco	ouse of Repr ords of that b	resentatives o ody as House	of the Sixty-first Legislative Bill No. 1278.
House Vote:	Yeas	68	Nays	24	Absent	2	
Senate Vote:	Yeas	45	Nays	0	Absent	2	
					Chief	Clerk of the H	
Received by the	e Governo	or at	M.	on			, 2009.
Approved at	N	1. on					, 2009.
					Gove	rnor	
Filed in this office this day of					, 2009,		
at o'	clock	M.					
					Secre	tary of State	