## Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2009

HOUSE BILL NO. 1060 (Legislative Council) (Tribal and State Relations Committee)

AN ACT to amend and reenact section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to extension of the committee on tribal and state relations.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

**SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

54-35-23. (Effective through July 31, <del>2009</del> <u>2011</u>) Committee on tribal and state relations - Membership - Duties.

- 1. The committee on tribal and state relations is composed of seven members as follows:
  - a. The chairman of the legislative council or the chairman's designee;
  - b. Three members of the house of representatives, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the house of representatives and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the house of representatives; and
  - c. Three members of the senate, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the senate and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the senate.
- 2. The chairman of the legislative council, or the chairman's designee, shall serve as chairman of the committee.
- 3. The committee shall meet at such times and places as determined by the chairman. The legislative council shall provide staffing for the committee.
- 4. The committee shall conduct joint meetings with the native American tribal citizens' task force to study tribal-state issues, including government-to-government relations, the delivery of services, case management services, child support enforcement, and issues related to the promotion of economic development. After the joint meetings have concluded, the committee shall meet to prepare a report on its findings and recommendations, together with any legislation required to implement those recommendations, to the legislative council.
- 5. The members of the committee are entitled to compensation from the legislative council for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for members of the legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings and are entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in the amounts provided by law for other state officers.
- 6. a. The native American tribal citizens' task force is composed of six members as follows:
  - (1) The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive director's designee;
  - (2) The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's designee;

- (3) The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;
- (4) The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, or the chairman's designee;
- (5) The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the chairman's designee; and
- (6) The chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation, or the chairman's designee.
- b. If the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or any of the tribal chairmen appoint a designee to serve on the task force, only one individual may serve as that designee during the biennium. A substitute designee may be appointed by the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or a tribal chairman in the event of the death, incapacity, resignation, or refusal to serve of the initial designee.

Spe	Speaker of the House				President of the Senate			
Chi	Chief Clerk of the House					Secretary of the Senate		
This certifies that Assembly of No	at the with rth Dakota	nin bill o a and is	riginated i known on	n the H the rec	ouse of Replords of that b	resentatives of the ody as House Bill I	Sixty-first Lo	
House Vote:	Yeas	86	Nays	5	Absent	3		
Senate Vote:	Yeas	47	Nays	0	Absent	0		
Received by the Governor at M. on Approved at M. on							, 2009.	
					Gove	rnor		
Filed in this offic			day o	f			, 2009,	
					Secre	tary of State		