NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 16, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Fort Union East Room, Great River Energy Building Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, on an annual report of North Dakota Transmission Authority activities
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, on the discount for oil produced in North Dakota
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Kurt Swenson, Vice President of the Northwest Region, Corval Group, on an update of the North Dakota refining capacity feasibility study
- 9:55 a.m. Break
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to make permanent the exemption from sales and use tax for construction materials used in a wind-powered electrical generating facility
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ryan Rauschenberger, Deputy Tax Commissioner, Tax Department, on the sales and use tax exemption for wind-powered electrical generating facilities
- 10:25 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:30 a.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to allow the Oil and Gas Research Council to promote innovation in safety, enhancement of environment, and an increase in education concerning the distribution of petroleum products and for the Industrial Commission to provide financial assistance to the refining industry and the petroleum marketing industry
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:45 a.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to create a biodiesel plant production incentive fund
- 10:55 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:00 a.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to treat green diesel the same as biodiesel and remove the ownership requirements of agricultural producers or residents for the biofuels partnership in assisting community expansion program
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to treat green diesel the same as biodiesel with a clawback provision upon changing the ownership of a facility that received a biofuels partnership in assisting community expansion grant

- 11:20 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:30 a.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 11:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, on oil and gas development impacts
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to increase the cap on oil and gas impact grants and change the procedure for issuing the grants
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 1:35 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft on the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission over wind farms
- 1:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:05 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 2:10 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:20 p.m. Break

Meet at Fort Union East Room, Great River Energy Building, 1611 East Century Avenue

- 2:45 p.m. Presentation on and tour of the Great River Energy Building, a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design-certified building, by Mr. AI Christianson, Manager, North Dakota Business Development and Governmental Affairs, Great River Energy, and by Mr. Jeffrey J. Ubl, President, Ubl Design Group, P.C.
- 3:15 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the United States Green Building Council, North Dakota Provisional Chapter, on energy efficiency and sustainability standards for public buildings
- 3:45 p.m. Presentation by a representative from the Department of Commerce on state energy conservation standards
- 3:55 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to require energy efficiency and sustainability standards for public buildings
- 4:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 4:05 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 4:10 p.m. Committee discussion and action
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Jim Dotzenrod, Robert M. Horne, Joe Miller, George Nodland

Representatives Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Lee Kaldor, Matthew M. Klein, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel