## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## Tentative Agenda

## **ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, August 18, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to make permanent the exemption from sales and use tax for construction materials used in a wind-powered electrical generating facility
9:15 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:35 a.m.	Committee discussion
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to allow the Oil and Gas Research Council to promote education and innovation in safety concerning the distribution of petroleum products and for the Industrial Commission to provide financial assistance to the refining industry and the petroleum marketing industry
9:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:05 a.m.	Committee discussion
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to create a biodiesel plant production incentive fund
10:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:55 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, on legislative proposals from the Energy Policy Commission
11:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:25 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to require energy-efficient public buildings
11:40 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:50 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Curtis Jabs, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, on a carbon dioxide capture project at the Antelope Valley Station
1:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Justin Kringstad, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, on recent and historical pipeline developments

1:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

1:40 p.m. Presentation by a representative from the State Water Commission on a study of water

resources for each sector of energy production

1:55 p.m. Comments by interested persons

2:10 p.m. Committee discussion

2:20 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Jim Dotzenrod, Robert M. Horne, Joe Miller, George Nodland

Representatives Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Lee Kaldor, Matthew M. Klein, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel