NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, January 12-13, 2010
Northern Crops Institute
North Dakota State University
Fargo, North Dakota

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Tuesday, January 12, 2010		
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting	
9:05 a.m.	Presentation regarding grain discounts by Mr. Neal Fisher, Administrator, Wheat Commission; Mr. Steve Strege, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association; and Mr. Vance Taylor, General Manager, Mill and Elevator	
10:15 a.m.	Break	
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the development of livestock feeding facilities and the use of byproducts from biofuels production as a feedstock	
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Steven Edwardson, Executive Administrator, North Dakota Barley Council, regarding the development of livestock feeding facilities and the use of byproducts from biofuels production as a feedstock	
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Vern Anderson, Animal Scientist, Carrington Research Extension Center, regarding the development of livestock feeding facilities and the use of byproducts from biofuels production as a feedstock	
11:30 a.m.	Comments by others	
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess	
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding bonding requirements placed on grain warehouses and buyers, including ethanol plants and grain processors	
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Susan Richter, Licensing Division, Public Service Commission, regarding bonding requirements placed on grain warehouses and buyers, including ethanol plants and grain processors	
1:45 p.m.	Comments by others	
2:45 p.m.	Break	
3:00 p.m.	Tour of the North Dakota State University greenhouse complex construction project	
4:00 p.m.	Recess	
Wednesday, January 13, 2010		

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

9:00 a.m.	Reconvene at the Northern Crops Institute
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ken Bertsch, Seed Commissioner, regarding the State Seed Department
9:30 a.m.	Tour of the State Seed Department

10:15 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Reconvene at the Northern Crops Institute

Review of a bill draft relating to the rewrite of North Dakota Century Code provisions

governing the State Seed Department

11:45 a.m. Comments by others

Committee discussion

Staff directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Phillip Mueller (Chairman), Mike Brandenburg, Mary Ekstrom, Rod Froelich, Curt Hofstad, Richard Holman, Dennis Johnson, Keith Kempenich, Joyce M. Kingsbury, Shirley Meyer, Gerry Uglem, Benjamin A. Vig, John D. Wall

Senators Arthur H. Behm, Bill Bowman, Tim Flakoll, Terryl L. Jacobs, Curtis Olafson, Terry M. Wanzek, John Warner

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel