Sixtieth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Wednesday, January 3, 2007

HOUSE BILL NO. 1439 (Representatives Weiler, S. Meyer, Nelson) (Senators Heitkamp, Nelson, Wanzek)

AN ACT to amend and reenact subsections 1 and 4 of section 54-17.6-05 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the membership of the oil and gas research council.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Subsections 1 and 4 of section 54-17.6-05 of the North Dakota Century Code are amended and reenacted as follows:

- 1. The oil and gas research council is composed of seven eight members, four of whom must currently be engaged in and have at least five years of active experience in the oil and natural gas exploration and production industry. The council consists of:
 - a. Four members appointed by the governor from a list provided by the North Dakota petroleum council. The governor may reject the list and request the council to submit a new list until the appointments are made.
 - b. One member appointed by the governor from a list provided by the North Dakota association of oil and gas producing counties. The governor may reject the list and request the association to submit a new list until the appointment is made.
 - c. The executive director of the North Dakota petroleum council, or the executive director's designee.
 - d. <u>The president of the northern alliance of independent producers or the president's designee.</u>
 - e. A county commissioner from an oil producing county appointed by the governor.
- e. <u>f.</u> The director of the oil and gas division and the state geologist shall serve on the council as advisory nonvoting members.
- 4. The council shall have at least one regular meeting each year and such additional meetings as the chairman determines necessary at a time and place to be fixed by the chairman. Special meetings must be called by the chairman on written request of any three members. Four Five members constitute a quorum.

S	Speaker of	the House	е		Presid	dent of the Senate	
C	Chief Clerk of the House				Secretary of the Senate		
						presentatives of the ody as House Bill N	
House Vote:	Yeas	93	Nays	0	Absent	1	
Senate Vote:	Yeas	44	Nays	0	Absent	3	
					Gove		
			day of	f			, 2007,
at	o'clock	M.					
					Secre	tary of State	