nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Breadcrumb Navigation

Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations

Interim Committee Studies and Assignments

(12 members)

2372 § 1 Study the feasibility and desirability of establishing an organization or ombudsman to support and coordinate federal, tribal, state, including institutions of higher education, and local government and private efforts to discourage destructive behavior, including alcohol and drug abuse and tobacco use

Study local government structure, fiscal and other powers and functions of local governments, relationships between and among local governments and the state or any other government, allocation of state and local resources, and interstate issues involving local governments (NDCC § 54-35.2-02)

Receive report from the North Dakota Association of Counties before April 1 of each even-numbered year regarding how each county has used the county’s document preservation fund during the preceding two fiscal years (NDCC § 11-18-22.1, effective until August 1, 2009)

Legislative Council Staff

  • Timothy J. Dawson

Vice Chairman

Citizen Members

  • Randy Bina, Recreation and Park Association
    400 East Front Avenue
    Bismarck, ND 58504
  • Boom Karin, Association of Counties
    P.O. Box 128
    LaMoure, ND 58458-0128
  • Barry Cox, Association of Counties
    3948 88th Avenue NE
    Warwick, ND 58381-9419
  • Jon Martinson, School Boards Association
    P.O. Box 2276
    Bismarck, ND 58502
  • Mary Lee Nielson, League of Cities
    P.O. Box 390
    Valley City, ND 58072
  • Greg Sund, League of Cities
    99 Second Street East
    Dickinson, ND 58601
  • Ken Yantes, Township Officers Association
    P.O. Box 105
    Brocket, ND 58321


  • John Hoeven, Governor
    State Capitol
    Bismarck, ND 58505