nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Measure Actions

Sen. W.Stenehjem, Andrist, Holmberg
Rep. DeKrey, Delmore, Devlin
A concurrent resolution for the amendment of section 5 of article V of the Constitution of
North Dakota, relating to the election of executive branch officers.
This amendment provides that one-half of the elected state officials will be chosen by voters
in each election year. To start this arrangement, the agriculture commissioner, attorney
general, secretary of state, and tax commissioner will be elected for two-year terms in 2004,
and thereafter will be elected to four-year terms.

01/20 Senate Introduced, first reading, referred Government and Veterans Affairs SJ 125

02/04 Senate Committee Hearing 02:30

02/15 Senate Reported back, do pass, placed on calendar y 007 n 000 SJ 439

02/24 Senate Second reading, passed, yeas 046 nays 000 SJ 539

02/25 House Received from Senate HJ 659

03/01 House Introduced, first reading, referred Judiciary HJ 685

03/16 House Committee Hearing 09:00

03/18 House Reported back, do pass, placed on calendar y 013 n 001 HJ 879

03/19 House Second reading, passed, yeas 075 nays 014 HJ 889

03/19 Senate Returned to Senate SJ 769

03/22 Senate Signed by President SJ 788

03/24 House Signed by Speaker HJ 969

03/25 Senate Filed with Secretary of State SJ 846

Back to top