nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Breadcrumb Navigation

Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations

Interim Committee Studies and Assignments

(11 members)

Study local government structure, fiscal and other powers and functions of local governments, relationships between and among local governments and the state or any other government, allocation of state and local resources, and interstate issues involving local governments (NDCC § 54-35.2-02)

Administer grants to political subdivisions for projects to improve efficiency of local governments (NDCC § 54-35.2-02.1)

Study the feasibility and desirability of restructuring county government as described by SCR 4014 - Legislative Council request

Legislative Council Staff

  • John D. Bjornson


Legislative Members

Citizen Members

  • Randy Bina
    Parks and Recreation Association
    Bismarck, ND 58504
  • Jeff Fuchs, League of Cities
    102 Third Avenue SE
    Jamestown, ND 58401
  • Erling Karlsbraaten, Association of Counties
    RR 1, Box 39
    Esmond, ND 58332-9739
  • Stan Lyson, Association of Counties
    P.O. Box 1482
    Williston, ND 58802-1482
  • Bill Sorenson, League of Cities
    1618 Santa Gertrudis Loop
    Bismarck, ND 58501
  • Ken Yantes, Township Officers Association
    HCR 1, Box 94
    Starkweather, ND 58377


  • Edward T. Schafer, Governor
    State Capitol
    600 East Boulevard, ND 58505

Committee Meetings

Subscribe to Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations Event Updates