nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Breadcrumb Navigation

1862 2nd Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota

Assembly information prior to the 1997 Legislative Assembly is continuously being added to the legislative branch website.  Therefore, assembly documents and information preceding the 1997 Legislative Assembly may not be available at this time, but may become available in the future.

The 2nd Territorial Legislative Assembly consisted of a Council with 10 council members and a House of Representatives with 14 representatives.  The 2nd Territorial Legislative Assembly convened in regular session in Yankton, Dakota Territory, on Monday, December 1, 1862.

Councilmember Henry D. Betts was absent and his seat remained vacant during the 2nd Territorial legislative session.  Therefore, only 9 members served in the Council for this session.

Territorial Legislative Assembly