

9:00 a.m.

Call to order

## **Tentative Agenda**

25.5096.02000

Revised 3/4/2024

## WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 5, 2024 Room 327B, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the December 11, 2023, meeting Presentation by Mr. Aaron Carranza, Director, Regulatory Division, Department of 9:05 a.m. Water Resources, regarding an overview of the Regulatory Division Presentation by Mr. Andrew Nygren, Water Appropriation Division, Department of Water 10:00 a.m. Resources, regarding an overview of water appropriations 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, regarding aquifer recharge and recovery 11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris Kadrmas, Director, Administrative Services Division, Department of Water Resources, regarding a financial update of the Department of Water Resources 12:00 noon Recess Presentations by representatives of the North Dakota Water Resources Research 1:00 p.m. Institution regarding water-related research in North Dakota Presentation by Mr. Karl Rockeman, Director, Division of Water Quality, Department of 2:00 p.m. Environmental Quality, regarding the Vision 2 North Dakota Total Maximum Daily Load Prioritization Strategy 2:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding Senate Bill No. 2372 (2023) Comments of interested persons and discussion relating to Senate Bill No. 2372 (2023) 2:20 p.m.

2:50 p.m. Comments of interested persons and discussion relating to Sargent County Drain 11

Court's recent ruling in Sargent County Water Resource District v. Beck, et al.

Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding the North Dakota Supreme

3:10 p.m. Committee Discussion

3:15 p.m. Adjourn

2:45 p.m.

## A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Ronald Sorvaag (Chairman), Michael Dwyer, David Hogue, Larry Luick, Jeffery J. Magrum, Jim P. Roers

Representatives: Mike Beltz, Jared Hagert, Jorin Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Bob Martinson, Jon O. Nelson, Anna S. Novak, Jeremy Olson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Steve Swiontek

Staff Contact: Austin Gunderson, Counsel